Refine Search

Governor waves in husband's winning team

...ran the race in 38 hours, 7 minutes, 57 seconds, an average speed of about 52 mph. They beat Tyler Aklestad and Tyson Johnson by 47 minutes, 58 seconds in what boiled down to a two-team race by the end. Aklestad and Johnson had a trail time...
Minnick, Olstad win 2009 Iron Dog snowmobile race

...and Scott Davis in 2007. Minnick and Olstad left Nenana just one minute ahead of the Tyler Aklestad of Palmer and Tyson Johnson of Eagle River on Ski-Doos. Aklestad and Johnson crossed the finish line at 11:59 - four minutes behind the winners...
Snowmobile racers prepare for start of Tesoro Iron Dog

...that adds up and pretty soon you're way behind." Also back is last year's runner-up team, Tyler Aklestad and Tyson Johnson. The two hard-charging riders from Southcentral have yet to win the race but finished just 48 minutes behind Davis...


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-3028
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2270
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback