Lorraine Norma Robinson

...Kendra Fisher, Sage Davenport, Cassidy Davenport, Bailey Davenport, Sydney Sabin, Samantha Sabin, Trevin Carley, Tenlee Newton, Teagan Walsh, Isiah Bonham, Cooper Hamilton, Niko Sweat and Spencer Sweat; and great-great-grandchild Kalix Baines...
JDHS Theatre opens 'Xanadu'

...swing for the show, dragged me along to the performance kicking and screaming," Moore wrote. "I DID NOT like the Olivia Newton John movie version and was not happy to spend an evening in the theater reliving it. Boy, was I in for a big surprise! It...
Fresh figs are something special

Like most Americans, my first experience with figs was in the form of a cookie. Fig Newtons were one of the first "mass-produced" cookies, first made in 1891 and still popular today. This famous soft cookie with its...
Time to go metric

...Aeronautics and Space Administration scientists thought (reasonably to us) that the information was in the metric measure of newtons. The resulting miscalculation doomed the flight. It's surprising that this discrepancy wasn't discovered in time - and...
Takotna treats mushers to a family dinner

...flowing and the mushers fed. And Newton serves up more than food. She...They are like family, mostly," Newton said. The Newtons try to give the mushers what they...the menu, it will be, if Jan Newton has the ingredients. "They will...
Today in sports history

...Neil Rackers in 2005 with Arizona.2011 - Carolina's Cam Newton breaks Peyton Manning's NFL rookie record for yards passing...and sets a franchise mark with a 91-yard touchdown pass. Newton throws for 171 yards and three touchdowns and scores on an amazing...
Today In Sports History for Dec. 11

...defenseman Larry Murphy.2010 - Auburn quarterback Cam Newton wins the Heisman Trophy after a season in which he played brilliantly but was also the focus of an NCAA investigation. Newton wins in a landslide vote with 729 first-place votes and...
For Heisman, it's Oregon's Mariota

...Heisman winners were in their first seasons as starters, including Cam Newton, who won the award in his only season at Auburn after transferring from a junior college. Before Newton, three straight sophomores won the award (Tim Tebow of Florida...
Seattle and Carolina both relying on run game

...Jonathan Stewart has carried the load, averaging 104.8 yards per game with two touchdowns during that span. A healthier Cam Newton has also had an elevated role in the running game, averaging 56.2 yards per game with three TDs in the past five games...
Today in sports history

...Reggie Wayne late in the fourth quarter puts Indianapolis in the playoffs with a 20-13 win over Kansas City. Luck, with 4,183 yards, surpasses Cam Newton's year-old record of 4,051 yards passing by a rookie in the second quarter.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-3028
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2270
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback