Refine Search

Juneau Girl Scout Troop thanks Kirby Day and Princess Cruises

...youth staff, who gave them a tour of the different areas aboard the ship. The girls were greeted by Iditarod Musher Libby Riddles and had an opportunity to speak with her and meet one of her pups. The cruise ship passengers seemed enchanted by...
Iditarod: Five things to know about standout finishes

...over Rick Swenson, who went on to become the Iditarod's only five-time champion.QUEENS OF THE TRAILIn 1985, Libby Riddles forged through a blinding ground blizzard nobody else dared to enter to become the first woman to win the race. It...
Alaska mushers in lead on Iditarod's final stretch

...for me. Believe me, I am trying."The last woman to win the race was four-time champion Susan Butcher in 1990. Libby Riddles was the first female winner, taking the crown in 1985.King won the Iditarod in 1993, 1996, 1998 and 2006. Rick...
Theater at Latitude 58 presents three plays

...McPhetres."Danger the Dog Yard Cat" is a story-ballet about a cat who fantasizes about being the real hero of Libby Riddles' race on Iditarod. It was written by Riddles, Shelley Gill and Shannon Cartwright. "A Thousand Cranes" tells...
Thank you

...Jeff Brown & his "We Like Kids" program at KTOO, Barb Neal, LouAnn Gagne, Susi Gregg Fowler, and Jean Rogers and Libby Riddles. Thank You! Friends of the Juneau Public Libraries: Bridget Smith, Donna Denton, Diane Sly, Jerry Kress, Mary...
Musher is able to turn winter sport into summer attraction for tourists

...Other Iditarod mushers cashing in on their fame and lifestyle include Susan Butcher, Mitch Seavey, Linwood Fiedler, Libby Riddles and Lynda Plettner. All work with tour companies or market their own businesses. The mushers showcase their kennels...
Shaping Alaska myth

...myth and reality of life in the Last Frontier. From Barbara Washburn (the first woman to summit Denali in 1947) to Libby Riddles breaking the all-men's winners club of the Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race in 1985, women have played an important...
Mushers, Olympic champs make Hall of Fame

...moments category, Hudson Stuck and Walter Harper's ascent of Mount McKinley in 1913 and the 1985 Iditarod victory by Libby Riddles, the first women to win the legendary race, were honored. The Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race was named as the first...
My Turn: Teach Alaska's history

What did Alexander Baranov, Gen. Billy Mitchell, Bennie Benson, Elizabeth Peratrovich and Libby Riddles contribute to Alaska? If you don't know, perhaps you too could benefit from the teaching of Alaska history. Alaska's competitive...
Big crowd expected at inauguration

...officials this morning for a private event at Signers' Hall on the University of Alaska Fairbanks campus. Alaska musher Libby Riddles, the first woman to win the Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race in 1985, will act as mistress of ceremonies. Superior Court...


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-3028
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2270
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback