http://sealaska.com

Refine Search

  •  
  •  
Saturday Challenge

...black yoga pants and a T-shirt. They all stop what they're doing and stare at me."Hello," I murmur, and then I spy someone I know, Swarupa, an advocate for AWARE (Aiding Women in Abuse and Rape Emergencies). I sidle up next to her...

http://juneauempire.com/local/2014-10-20/saturday-challenge
Local
A snapshot of Juneau, circa 1994

...real junky one," state Sen. Dennis Egan said, looking through one of the room's two windows as he played a game of "I Spy" with Hughes.Many of the items are Juneau-specific to give future generations a snapshot of what Juneau was like in...

http://juneauempire.com/local/2014-09-21/snapshot-juneau-circa-1994
Local
In the Stacks: New books for beginning readers

...the huge variety of beetles, and find out what a caterpillar's mouth looks like. At the end of each book is a simple I-spy double-page spread featuring the title creature. The jazzy visuals and energetic verse complement each other well without...

http://juneauempire.com/art/2014-07-10/stacks-new-books-beginning-readers
Art
We always do it that way

...and now it's tradition. In the same way, we play "I Spy" when standing in line at the post office. The game isn't...very long post office line and passed the time by playing "I Spy," so now it's a tradition.You have to be careful what...

http://juneauempire.com/neighbors/2013-07-07/we-always-do-it-way
Neighbors
Thoughts on Jeff Brown

...name of making events fun for all of us! Asking community members to contribute a trinket or two he created a gigantic I-spy puzzle that is an attraction in the Alaska State Museum's children's room. He has also been the guest artist for a...

http://juneauempire.com/art/2011-10-06/thoughts-jeff-brown
Art
FYI

...Floral (florist). Kaie M. Wilcox, vice president, representing Kaie M. Wilcox and Randall V. Sirois, partners, I Spy Innovations (electronic and precision equipment repair and maintenance). Ian Grant, co-owner, Pizzeria Roma (full-service...

http://www.juneauempire.com/stories/092200/Com_FYI.html
Comm
Living and Growing: To LOL or not to LOL?

...and frankly, more self-centered. Learning to negotiate what to watch on the shared, family TV is important. Playing I Spy on boring family vacation drives develops our sense of connection and play more than individual DVD players ever will. Calling...

http://www.juneauempire.com/stories/032711/nei_805983876.shtml
Neighbors
Living and Growing: To LOL or not to LOL?

...and frankly, more self-centered. Learning to negotiate what to watch on the shared, family TV is important. Playing I Spy on boring family vacation drives develops our sense of connection and play more than individual DVD players ever will. Calling...

http://juneauempire.com/neighbors/2011-03-26/living-and-growing-lol-or-not-lol
Neighbors
Brown honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award

...Cheerful Smiles).His activities over the years also include publishing a series of joke books for each state, creating an "I spy" display in the kids room at the Alaska State Museum, guest curating a games exhibit at the state museum, and participating...

http://juneauempire.com/art/2011-10-06/brown-honored-lifetime-achievement-award
Art
Non fiction for children

...and look into (via cross-sections) pyramids, temples, palaces, boats, and towns. Fans of Where's Waldo and I Spy books will especially enjoy poring over this intricate book. Kids! Dress up as your favorite animal and come to the Paws...

http://www.juneauempire.com/stories/060906/boo_20060609001.shtml
Books

CONTACT US

  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-3028
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2270
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback

ADVERTISING

SUBSCRIBER SERVICES

SOCIAL NETWORKING