Refine Search


Gov. Sean and and First Lady Sandy Parnell and Juneau's "Tuxes to Xtra Tufs" Inaugural co-chairwomen Tanja Cadigan and Jennifer Miller recently presented a $46,000 donation to Southeast Alaska Independent Living (SAIL) executive...
Alaskan leading Arctic discussion

...special adviser to the Secretary of State. While she describes the role as a "slight expansion" of her current duties as chairwoman of the U.S. Arctic Research Commission, it could have big ramifications for Alaska as America is poised to assume the...
Washington prepares for retail sales

...appealing to kids."We're just not going to let toys or cartoon figures be used on our labels," said Sharon Foster, chairwoman of the state liquor control board.Foster noted that officials are also worried about adult consumers who may not realize...
Not For Web
Group touts public funding for elections

...election campaigns. Sound off on the important issues at A bipartisan group of legislators, including two Republican committee chairwomen, have introduced legislation calling for publicly financed state campaigns in Alaska. Also, a citizen initiative to accomplish...
Juneau prepares to take part in next year's Olympic Torch run

...its route and posing runners in front of Mendenhall Glacier. Seventeen members of the organizing committee, including co-chairwomen Mayor Sally Smith and Tish Griffin of the University of Southeast Alaska, met Friday with Gretchen Lawler of the Salt Lake...
Photo: UAS thanks its College of Fellows

...Alexander Tutunov (seated) with Steve Allwine and campaign co-chairwomen, Alison Browne and Carol Gerken. Middle row: Chancellor John Pugh, College of Fellows' chairwoman Laraine Derr, Lawrence Lee Oldaker, Lloyd Johnson and Richard...
Juneau Empire Story Archive

...Those years led to appointments and powerful positions, including speaker of the House, Senate president and chairmen and chairwomen of probably every committee possible. All told, it will leave quite a void next year. We're sure the political jockeying...
Program to improve Juneau literacy launches

...Doors Through Literacy" campaign, a program aimed at making Juneau "the most literate small town in America," program chairwoman Heather Mitchell said.The program aims to get Juneau's children and adults reading for fun and discussing what they read...
The National Organization of Women re-establishes chapter

...committees formed at a meeting attended by 25 women on July 13 at the downtown library. Ann Ropp and Joan Cahill are co-chairwomen, Kate Burkhart is secretary, and Barbara May is treasurer. Membership and media committees were filled quickly by several...
Stevens losing chairmanship regardless

...convenes in January. He is forced to do so by the Republicans' self-imposed term limits on their committee chairmen and chairwomen." Stevens will rotate his chairmanship to someone else, despite Tony Knowles. Maybe the Murkowski campaign should focus...


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-3028
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2270
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback