Refine Search

Former champs push Yukon Quest field to 45

...Fairbanks; William Kleedehn of Carcross, Yukon Territory; Suzan Amundsen of Fairbanks; Jim Hendrick of Denali Park; Bill Steyer of Fairbanks; David Dalton of Fairbanks; Peter Ledwidge of Dawson City, Yukon Territory; Terry Asbury of Healy...
Juneau Empire Story Archive

...Denali arrived at 4:30 a.m. and finished 12th. Dave Dalton of Wasilla arrived at 5:41 a.m. in 13th place and Bill Steyer of Fairbanks crossed the finish line at 5:14 p.m. in 14th place. Tim Osmar of Ninilchik reached Fairbanks at 3...
Repeat Quest win almost certain for Atlin musher Gatt

...morning. Mushers on the trail between Circle City and Central were, in order of departure from Circle City, Hugh Neff, Bill Steyer, Frank Turner, Dan Kaduce, Andy Elsberg and Peter Ledwidge. Neff made a bold move in Circle City early Tuesday morning...
2005 Iditarod Starting Order

...Nenana 36. Diana Moroney, Chugiak 37. Karen Ramstead, Perryvale, Alberta 38. Harmony Barron, Lincoln, Mont. 39. Bill Steyer, Fairbanks 40. Cliff Wang, Lincoln, Mont. 41. Paul Gebhardt, Kasilof 42. Hans Gatt, Atlin, British Columbia...
Boulding wins Kusko 300

...28 p.m. and Ed Iten of Ambler finished in fourth place at 2 p.m. Twenty-one mushers started the 300-mile race from Bethel to Aniak and back at noon on Friday. By late Sunday two, Rocky Taylor and Bill Steyer, had scratched.
Eleven sign up for 20th Yukon Quest

...relation to Alden West, was second in line. Abbie West was followed by Rusty Hagan of Fairbanks, Terry Asbury of Healy, Bill Steyer of Fairbanks, Sylvia Furtwangler of Argenbuhl, Germany, Bruce Milne of Two Rivers, William Kleedehn of Carcross...
Swingley, citing race uncertainties, drops out of Yukon Quest

...his title. Other top racers are Thomas Tetz and William Kleedehn, who placed third and fifth last year; Fairbanksan Bill Steyer, who placed sixth last year; two-time Quest champion John Schandelmeier; and Frank Turner, the 1995 champion...
Freeman moves to front of Yukon Quest pack

...Among those who reached Slaven's by early Tuesday were Dave Monson of Fairbanks, Christopher Knott of Fairbanks, Bill Steyer of Fairbanks and Shannon Brockman of Nenana. Seven Yukon Quest mushers have scratched from the race, leaving 34 on...
Time will tell if Freeman has a winning strategy

...Butteri and William Kleedehn, who arrived about 7 a.m. Others among the front of the pack, Hans Gatt, David Monson, Bill Steyer and Shannon Brockman, arrived throughout the rest of the morning and afternoon. Today, Butteri held a two-hour...
Gatt first musher to reach Alaska

...Schandelmeier of Paxson at 6:14 a.m. and Hugh Neff of Coldfoot at 6:25 a.m. There was a big gap after Neff, with Bill Steyer of Fairbanks leaving more that six hours later, at 3:30 p.m. The mushers left Whitehorse, Yukon Territory, last...


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-3028
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2270
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback