Refine Search

Letter: In support of Munoz re-electing Cathy Munoz. In Cathy, I recognize many of the great qualities I saw in Bettye Fahrenkamp, Arliss Sturgulewski, Kay Brown, Al Adams, Carl Moses, and many others - intelligence, the ability to listen, unfaltering commitment...
My Turn: History shows Walker and Mallott made the smart move

...upsets came in 1990 when Wally Hickel, running under the Alaskan Independence Party ticket, won against Republican Arliss Sturgulewski and Democrat Tony Knowles. The last-three way upset happened in 1994 when independent Jack Coghill took votes...
New coalition says corporations aren't people

...state Legislature and the governor's office to make the pledge.Alaskans who have endorsed the effort include Arliss Sturgulewski, a former state senator and GOP candidate for governor; Vic Fischer, a former state senator and state constitutional...
Legislative centennial celebrations kick off

...legislators, including ex-Reps. John Sund, D-Ketchikan, and Clark Gruening, D-Anchorage, and ex-Sen. Arliss Sturgulewski, R-Anchorage, recounted the story of how Alaska Permanent Fund dividends came to be, among other tales.As...
Legislative centennial celebration concludes

...round-robin with attendees, including Botelho, Lt. Gov. Mead Treadwell, former Anchorage Republican Sen. Arliss Sturgulewski, former Senate President Clem Tillion, R-Halibut Cove, and former House Speaker Terry Gardiner, D-Ketchikan...
Political shift leaves more room for women

WASILLA - When Arliss Sturgulewski became the first female major-party nominee for governor in 1986, the world of Alaska politics was a very different place...
Photo: Education bond

Arliss Sturgulewski, right, talks about the education bond, Proposition C, during a news conference in Anchorage, as Education First co-chairs...
Photo: Coming and going

...Sheffield, following Cowper's 1986 victory. Cowper beat Sheffield in the Democratic primary and defeated Republican Arliss Sturgulewski in the general election that year. Cowper did not run for re-election in 1990, when Alaskan Independence Party...
For service to Alaska

Bil l Hudson, Arliss Sturgulewski, Ernest Gruening, Jay Hammond, Hugh Malone, Wally Hickel, Bill Egan. One-hundred years from now these statesmen will still...
Members plan for permanent fund meeting "I'm not going to raise my hand or put my hand behind my back," said former state Republican lawmaker Arliss Sturgulewski, an appointee from Anchorage. "We certainly were not asked by the administration, 'Just exactly what is your...


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-3028
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2270
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback