Refine Search

Seven-time Iron Dog champion to retire

...because of the dangers of high-speed travel across remote terrain. Among the notables in the field: 2006 champs Andy George of Wasilla and Dwayne Drake of Fairbanks. Three-time winner Dusty VanMeter of Soldotna, the only racer with the...
Kasilof man revving for another Iron Dog run

...per hour and finishing with a total trail time of 35 hours, 39 minutes and 56 seconds. They bested Dwayne Drake and Andy George's 2006 time of 35:48 even though that course was 60 miles shorter than the one VanMeter and McKenna raced this year...
McKenna and Quam win Iron Dog race

...Fairbanks finish line of the 2,000-mile race shortly after 12:30 p.m. Saturday. Coming in second were the team of Andy George of Wasilla and Dwayne Drake of Fairbanks. Close behind in third place were Tyler Huntington of Galena, and veteran...
Snowmobile racers prepare for start of Tesoro Iron Dog

...chased by five teams that include at least one former champion. Dwayne Drake of Fairbanks won the 2006 race with partner Andy George of Wasilla. The pair scratched last year after George crashed into a log about 200 miles into the race and they fell...
Defending Iron Dog champions go separate ways in this year's race

...have come back with new partners. Only six teams are back from last year's race. That includes Dwayne Drake and Andy George, who placed second. Additionally, Scott Davis, who is tied with John Faeo for the most wins in race history, has...


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-3028
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2270
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback