Refine Search

Local Sports Briefs

...included 10 Alaskans -- ski jumper Alan Alborn, snowboarder Rosie Fletcher, biathletes Jay Hakkinen, Jeremy Teela and Rachel Steer, and cross-country skiers Nina Kemppel, Wendy Wagner, Aelin Peterson, Kikkan Randall and Lars Flora.
Alaskans Teela, Steer, Hakkinen headed for Olympics

...Snowboarder Rosey Fletcher of Girdwood and cross-country skiers Wendy Wagner and Kikkan Randall of Anchorage and Aelin Peterson of Fairbanks are also expected to win Olympic spots in competitions over the next several weeks. If they do, Alaska's...
Sixth Alaskan qualifies for Salt Lake City Olympics

...Jay Hakkinen of Kasilof, Jeremy Teela of Anchorage and Rachel Steer of Anchorage. Three more Nordic skiers -- Aelin Peterson of Fairbanks, Kikkan Randall of Anchorage and Wendy Wagner of Anchorage -- are considered strong shots to earn spots...
U.S. team picked for the 2003 World Nordic Ski Championships

...Torin Koos, 22, Leavenworth, Wash.; and Justin Wadsworth, 34, Bend, Ore. Also on the women's team are Aelin Peterson, 28, Fairbanks; Kikkan Randall, 21, Anchorage; Aubrey Smith, 22, Seward; and Kristina Trygstad-Saari...
Ten Alaskans drop in on the Winter Games

...are Wendy Wagner of Anchorage, Aelin Peterson of Fairbanks (the former securities...Norwegian National Championships. AELIN PETERSON Hometown: Fairbanks. Sport...Olympics. Capsule biography: Aelin Peterson, 27, became a equity trader...
Victory sends Alborn to Olympics

...Olympic hockey team, and at least three other cross-country skiers -- Rob Whitney and Lars Flora of Anchorage and Aelin Peterson of Fairbanks -- remain in the hunt for spots on the Nordic ski team. Of that group, Alborn is creating the most...
Two Alaska skiers win U.S. Nordic sprint titles

...which will be finalized a few days after championships conclude Jan. 13. Kikkan Randall won the women's race, followed by Tessa Benoit of South Pomfret, Vt., and Barb Jones of Bozeman. Aelin Peterson of Fairbanks finished sixth.
Alaska qualifies four more for Olympic Team

...The Olympics are Feb. 8-24. Named to the women's Nordic team on Monday were Wendy Wagner, 28, of Anchorage; Aelin Peterson, 26, of Fairbanks; and Kikkan Randall, 19, of Anchorage. Lars Flora, 24, of Anchorage, was named to the men's...


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-3028
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2270
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback